2013 Adaptive Water Skiing Championships

The Water Skiers with Disabilities Association, a sport discipline organization of USA Water Ski, has announced the selection of the 2013 U.S. Disabled Water Ski Team that will compete in the 11th Disabled Water Ski World Championships, Aug. 26-Sept. 1, 2013, in Milan, Italy. The selections were announced following the conclusion of the 2012 Disabled Water Ski National Championships, Aug. 24-25, in Elk Grove, Calif.

Within each event (slalom, tricks and jumping) at the Disabled Worlds, athletes are grouped into the three categories of seated (paraplegics and quadriplegics), standing (arm and/or leg disabilities with or without prosthesis) and vision impaired (partially or totally blind). At the 2011 Disabled Water Ski World Championships the U.S. Disabled Water Ski Team won the gold medal for the second consecutive time and the sixth time overall, while U.S. team members earned a total of 12 individual medals, including four gold medals, five silver medals and three bronze medals.

Athletes selected to the 2013 U.S. Disabled Water Ski Team were: Connor Aguilar-Poggetto (Carmichael, Calif.) – Men MP3; Bill Furbish (Atlanta, Ga.) – Men MP1; Chad Guzman (Gilbert, Ariz.) – Men MP3; Elijah Hager (Alexis, N.C.) – Men MP3; Jeff Hancock (Redmond, Ore.) – Men L; Jeremy Maddox (Pendergrass, Ga.) – Men MP2; Katie Mawby (Grand Haven, Mich.) – Women V1; Megan McCauley (Charlotte, N.C.) – Women MP2; Robbie Parks (Lexington, N.C.) – Men MP2; Jessica Radmilovic (Pine Grove, Calif.) – Women MP2; and Joe Ray (Wilsonville, Ala.) – Men MP2. Selected as alternates were: Dave Carter (Dallas, Ga.) – Men MP2; and Dan Reed (Indianapolis, Ind.) – Men MP3. Rhonda Van Dyk (Belding, Mich.) will serve as team manager, Matt Oberholtz (Oroville, Calif.) will serve as coach, and Dr. Keith Barbour (Monroe, Mich.) will be the team physician.